About the Miami ISCM

The Florida International University (FIU) School of Music houses the Miami Section of the International Society for Contemporary Music. This Associated Chapter formed in 2001 has further represent the goals of the ISCM in the US, namely the advocacy and presentation of Contemporary Music and related events.

Numerous ISCM affiliated activities have been realized and are being planned for the future including the annual New Music Miami ISCM festival, NODUS Ensemble concerts, and other new music related events (please visit the New Music Miami and NODUS sections of this site for more information.

In addition the chapter continues to make an official submission of up to 6 works by selected US based composers to the ISCM World Music Days Festival each year. These works will be considered for possible presentation at this event by the host country’s festival directors. The World Music Days Festival is one of the most important international new music events in the world. More

The directors for the Miami Section are Orlando Jacinto Garcia, Jacob Sudol, and Paula Matthusen. For more information regarding the chapter please feel free to contact Orlando Jacinto Garcia garciao@fiu.edu


The New Music Miami Festival began in 1993 as the May in Miami Music Festival, an annual, week-long festival occurring every May founded by composer Orlando Jacinto Garcia in collaboration with Florida International University and the New World Symphony Orchestra. The festival featured nightly concerts with performances by performers from the New World Symphony and FIU faculty of renowned, emerging, and student composers. In 1997, the festival expanded its scope and became the New Music Miami Festival. At this point the festival was no longer just for young composers and master artists and instead the repertoire was opened to include works from all composers internationally many of whom attend the festival and present their work for FIU and other students and the South Florida community at large.

This followed another change in format in 2002 when the festival became the New Music Miami ISCM Festival, reflecting FIU’s status as an associated chapter of the International Society of Contemporary Music (ISCM) which afforded the festival even wider recognition. The Miami Chapter established at Florida International University champions music from the US and helps represent the country at the ISCM’s Annual World Music Days.

The New Music Miami festival has continued to expand and in 2009 changed from a 1 – 2-week event to a 12-concert festival spread out over a 3-month period of time, often featuring new concerts for acoustic and electro-acoustic instrumentations as well as video both in concert settings such as the Wertheim Performing Arts Center and unique venues such as out-of-doors concerts at the Phillip and Patricia Frost Art Museum and most recently the Miami Beach Urban Studios located on Miami Beach. Throughout this, New Music Miami has developed numerous partnerships with presenting institutions, such as the Forum for New Music from Latin America, the Cervantino Festival, Music of the Americas Festival and a host of local institutions.

In addition to championing music from the US, the festival has enabled composers and performers to participate and present their work from countries such as Canada, Cuba, Spain, Mexico, Italy, Germany, England, and France. Special guest performers have included Joan La Barbara, Evan Ziporyn, Margaret Lancaster, Todd Reynolds, Kathleen Supové, Cristina Valdes, Jennifer Choi, Mari Kimura, Luis Gomez Imbert, Madeline Shapiro, Jaime Marquez, Saul Bitran, Daniella Strasfogel, Laura Wilcox, the NODUS Ensemble, and the FIU Symphony Orchestra and FIU Symphonic Wind Ensemble. Distinguished, featured composers include (but are not limited to) Earle Brown, Morton Subotnick, Jonathan Kramer, Tania Leon, Donald Martino, Pauline Oliveros, Bernard Rands, George Crumb, Olly Wilson, Tomas Marco, Lukas Foss, Mario Lavista, Don Erb, Chinary Ung, Mario Lavista, Judith Shatin, Javier Alvarez, Todd Reynolds, Evan Ziporyn, Matthew Burtner, Elizabeth Hoffman, and Fredrick Kaufman among others. In its 21st year, the festival continues to be directed by composer Orlando Jacinto Garcia http://www.orlandojacintogarcia.com/ with co-directors composers Jacob Sudol http://www.jacobsudol.com/ and Paula Matthusen http://www.paulamatthusen.com/

The festival’s web page can be found at http://www.newmusicmiami.org/ and the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/New-Music-Miami-131533493531749/

Pinterest Facebook Twitter Linkedin Plusone Email